Our university promotes the transfer of knowledge in society, the economy, politics, and in culture. By making the knowledge gained on its behalf accessible and effective, it fulfills its social responsibility. Get information about the third mission at our faculty here.

Foto: Panoramafoto mit Menschen im Neuen Augusteum
Open House at the campus on Augustusplatz, photo: Christian Hüller

Transfer as third mission of the faculty

Apart from research and teaching, the third mission of the faculty consists of the transfer of knowledge into society. Transfer is understood by the University of Leipzig as a dialogical impartation and transmission of academic insights from all scientific fields between the university and society, especially between the university and the economy, politics, and culture. Transfer is therefore a participative exchange process from which all who participate profit from. Transferable knowledge encompasses knowledge in the sense of concepts, statements, models, and theories, as well as methods and procedure knowledge.

Selection of transfer facilities at the faculty

The transfer activities of the faculty occur at the moment at different levels. One the one hand, all academic members of the faculty participate in transfer activities, whether that be through giving lectures, the organization of events, or the answering of media inquiries. On the other hand, transfer activities take place in the institutes and their facilities.

turn back

about us:

The research institute operates countrywide. Our university is one of the three leading universities.

Find out more

Research Centre Global Dynamics

turn around
turn back

about us:

Günter Thiele Foundation for Communication and Management in the Donor’s Association for the German economy.

find out more

Academic Society for Management & Communication

turn around
turn back

about us:

The Center for Journalism and Democracy (JoDem) devotes itself to the topic of trust in politics and in the media.

find out more

Center for Journalism and Democracy

turn around
turn back

about us:

The CEC supports startups and the founder scene in Germany.

find out more

Centre for Entrepreneurship Communication

turn around
turn back

about us:

For the strengthening of knowledge exchange about the topic financial communication between practice and research.

find out more

Center for Research in Financial Communication

turn around
turn back

about us:

To communicate for a social transformation towards a sustainable society.

find out more

Centre for Development Communication

turn around
turn back

about us:

Network of Cultural Studies with partners of the cultural and film branches (Kuwis@Work)

find out more

Cultura e.V.

turn around
turn back

about us:

The Competence Center for Quantitative Empirical Social Research at the University of Leipzig.

find out more

The faculty’s transfer strategy

In its future concept 2020-2025, the Faculty for Social Sciences and Philosophy obligated itself, in the future, to systematically recognize and promote transfer tasks, and to make it visible as a part of its profile. The faculty will try to combine transfer activities more strongly and to set priorities, in which they can be worked on across institutes and interdisciplinarily. With priorities set, the Faculty for Social Sciences and Philosophy participates in the implementation of the strategy for knowledge and technology transfer of the University of Leipzig. It will contribute overall to the strengthening of the faculty’s profile without preventing or transfer activities or being binding. Under this roof, the faculty maintains and develops cooperative relationships in the areas of research and teaching with external partners in economy, politics, culture, and the public sector, in order to raise the regional efficacy of the activity.

The faculty will participate further in the implementation of the cooperation agreement between the city of Leipzig and the University of Leipzig. According to the cooperation agreement, the following is planned.
 

  • Mutual information and agreement in questions of political education work,
  • Cooperation with the establishment and operation for societal solidarity,
  • Mutual planning of the Heinrich Lehmann Grube Endowed Chair for “Communal Politics and Civil Societal Engagement”,
  • Establishment of the Forum for freedom and Civic Rights of the City of Leipzig.


The faculty continues to develop its transfer strategy under consideration of current economic and societal developments and implements the described measures continuously. Within the context of possibilities revolving around capacity, the faculty participates in the setup and operation of the cross-faculty Transfer Labs for the Social Sciences and Humanities.

Unsere Universität fördert den Transfer von Wissen in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Kultur. Indem sie das in ihrem Namen gewonnene Wissen zugänglich und wirksam macht, wird sie ihrer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung gerecht. Erhalten Sie hier Informationen zur dritetn Mission an unserer Fakultät.

Foto: Panoramafoto mit Menschen im Neuen Augusteum
Tag der offenen Tür auf dem Campus Augustusplatz, Foto: Christian Hüller

Transfer als dritte Mission der Fakultät

Neben Forschung und Lehre bildet der Transfer von Wissen in die Gesellschaft die dritte Mission der Fakultät. Transfer wird von der Universität Leipzig als eine dialogische Vermittlung und Übertragung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse aus allen Wissenschaftsbereichen zwischen Universität und Gesellschaft, insbesondere zwischen Universität und Wirtschaft, Politik und Kultur verstanden. Transfer ist somit ein partizipativer Austauschprozess, von dem alle Beteiligten profitieren. Transferierbares Wissen umfasst Wissen im Sinne von Konzepten, Aussagen, Modellen und Theorien sowie von Methoden und Verfahrenskenntnissen.
 

Auswahl an Transfereinrichtungen an der Fakultät

Die Transferaktivitäten der Fakultät erfolgen derzeit auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen. Zum einen sind alle wissenschaftlichen Mitglieder der Fakultät an Transferaktivitäten beteiligt, sei es durch das Halten von Vorträgen, die Organisation von Veranstaltungen oder die Beantwortung von Medienanfragen. Zum anderen finden Transferaktivitäten an den Instituten und ihren Einrichtungen statt.

zurückdrehen

über uns:

Das Forschungsinstitut agiert bundesweit. Unsere Universität ist eine der drei Lead-Hochschulen.

mehr erfahren

Forschungsinstitut Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt

Karte umdrehen
zurückdrehen

über uns:

Günter-Thiele-Stiftung für Kommunikation und Management im Stifterverband für die deutsche Wirtschaft.

mehr erfahren

Akademische Gesellschaft

Karte umdrehen
zurückdrehen

über uns:

Das Zentrum Journalismus und Demokratie (JoDem) widmet sich dem Thema Vertrauen in Politik und Medien.

mehr erfahren

Zentrum Journalismus und Demokratie

Karte umdrehen
zurückdrehen

über uns:

Das CEC unterstützt Startups und die Grüderszene in Deutschland

mehr erfahren

Centre for Entrepreneurship Communication

Karte umdrehen
zurückdrehen

über uns

Zur Stärkung des Wissensaustauschs zum Thema Finanzkommunikation zwischen Praxis und Wissenschaft.

mehr erfahren

Center for Research in Financial Communication

Karte umdrehen
zurückdrehen

über uns:

Zur Kommunikation für eine gesellschaftliche Transformatin in Richtung einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft.

mehr erfahren

Zentrum Entwicklungskommunikation

Karte umdrehen
zurückdrehen

über uns:

Netzwerk der Kulturwissenschaften mit Partnern der Kultur- und Filmbranche (Kuwis@Work)

mehr erfahren

Cultura e.V.

Karte umdrehen
zurückdrehen

über uns:

Das Kompetenzzentrum für quantitative empirische Sozialforschung der Universität Leipzig

mehr erfahren

Transferstrategie der Fakultät

In ihrem Zukunftskonzept 2020-2025 hat sich die Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften und Philosophie verpflichtet, zukünftig Transferaufgaben systematischer anzuerkennen, zu fördern, und als Teil ihres Profils sichtbarer zu machen Die Fakultät wird versuchen, ihre Transferaktivitäten stärker als bisher zu bündeln und dabei Schwerpunkte zu setzen, zu denen institutsübergreifend und interdisziplinär gearbeitet werden kann. Mit einer Schwerpunktsetzung beteiligt sich die Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften und Philosophie maßgeblich an der Umsetzung der Strategie für Wissens- und Technologietransfer der Universität Leipzig. Sie wird zur Schärfung des Profils der Fakultät insgesamt beitragen, ohne andere Transferaktivitäten zu unterbinden oder verpflichtend zu sein. Die Fakultät unterhält und entwickelt unter diesem Dach Kooperationsbeziehungen in den Bereichen der Forschung und Lehre zu externen Partnern in Wirtschaft, Politik, Kultur und öffentlichem Sektor, um die regionale Wirksamkeit ihrer Tätigkeit zu steigern.

Die Fakultät wird sich weiterhin an der Umsetzung der Kooperationsvereinbarung zwischen der Stadt Leipzig und der UL beteiligen. Gemäß Kooperationsvereinbarung sind geplant:
 

  • wechselseitige Information und Abstimmung in Fragen der politischen Bildungsarbeit,
  • Kooperation bei Errichtung und Betrieb des Instituts für gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt,
  • gemeinsame Planung der Hinrich-Lehmann-Grube-Stiftungsprofessur für „Kommunalpolitik und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement“,
  • Errichtung des Forums für Freiheit und Bürgerrechte der Stadt Leipzig.
     

Die Fakultät entwickelt ihre Transferstrategie unter Beachtung aktueller wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen weiter und setzt die darin beschriebenen Maßnahmen kontinuierlich um. Sie beteiligt sich im Rahmen ihrer kapazitären Möglichkeiten am Aufbau und Betrieb eines fakultätsübergreifenden Transfer Labs für die Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften.